409 Knock

DonSSDD

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 2
I have a knock in my 409. It doesn’t seem to be there when you first start it up, but starts after it starts to warm up. With a broom stick against the block you can feel it in your hands and I also can hear it when I had it running with the fan belt off- no water pump or generator running.

It is a 63 340HP 409, just rebuilt, 10 over on the crank, line bored, 30 over on the pistons, stock cam, stock oil pump, just fired it up for the first time. It has about 30lbs oil pressure at idle, starts well, and the knock wasn’t there until now. I may have run it a total of 2 or 3 hours before the knock appeared. I am not an experienced mechanic, but it sounds like a knock, not a tick like if it was a lifter/valve issue.

It runs normal temp wise, plugs, oil, and anti-freeze are normal as well.

The engine work was done by a very reputable shop- they put the bottom end together, plus installed the heads and set the valves. I did the rest of the install.

It has a stock oil pan, distributor, exhaust manifolds, the bell housing, block mounted starter, clutch, PP, and transmission from the 59. I removed the pans from the bell housing due to the upper one rubbing on the end of the crank.

What can knock other than something inside the block?

Brings back memories of George Carlin- the seven words you can’t say on TV have come to mind several times.

Thanks,
Don

Ronnie Russell

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 2
Don, I will take a guess. The beginning of a rod knock. Easily dianosed. Keep driving and if that is so, it will get louder and louder. What I believe is probably the real cause is piston pin knock. Faint but steady. Not an issue. Will run for years. Just my opinion.

skipxt4

Well Seasoned Member
Supporting Member 18