1959 Driveshaft

1959chevybr

Well Known Member
I am new so please forgive if I am doing things incorrectly. I have read over the last two weeks every thread on this site about 2 piece drive shaft woes and have tried every suggestion. I am not an expert but have done over 25 frame up builds but nothing has ever kicked my butt like these vibrations. So the basics, 59 Belair, 1995 LT1 Corvette engine, 4L60, thus shortened the front drive shaft accordingly, had it balanced and a trial run. Pulsing at low speed strong vibrations around 60. So bought an Inland Driveline unit all balanced together, etc. Still the same issue except worse, talked to them about the issue they suggest the 3/8 trim off the center bearing, no help. I bought another drive shaft, had it balanced still the same issue. Then came the angle process and have moved trans, center bearing (up and down), pinion all over, used Spicer's site to calculate angles, no help. Went back as close to the factor angles as possible, no help. I doubt there is an angle I have not tried (except maybe the correct one). I really do not seem to be able to affect the vibration by moving any angle, better or worse. I am looking for someone that really has fixed this issue, is it possible after cutting the shaft and mild modifications to the car (2 inch front spindles) is it impossible to ever get the car to operate correctly? I have thought 1 piece driveshaft with advice pro and con. It looks like without really massaging the frame about all that could be used is a 3 inch shaft and the driveline shop says not large enough for the length and doubt the success. I am looking for real life answers as I have been banging my head against this drive shaft for 6 months. Can not really use the car and as all of us have dumped a lot of money. I apologize if I have gone about this thread thing incorrectly and realize there are many threads on here about this very issue, they just did not fix mine.. Please HELP!!

1959chevybr