1962 Impala Project

62Impala

I've been working on restoring a 1962 Impala since October of 2009. I figured I'd start a thread to show the progress from the start of the build up until its completion. I'm going to start posting the pictures of the progress over the last year slowly until I get caught up to where I am today with it.
Just a little back ground on the car: it is an original white with red interior V8 car with A/C. Originally built in California and it appears to have spent its life in Phoenix, AZ as the outline of a sticker that had been on it from a dealer listed that as its location . The car is extremely clean; the sheet metal won't require any patches with the exception of the front fenders. The car currently has a 283 in it; though it is not the original engine. I'm going to use that engine for now until I can afford to swap it out for a 409 down the road.
The pictures below are right after delivery to my house.

-Nick

Attachments

• impala8.jpg
    impala8.jpg
    46.4 KB · Views: 235
  • impala6.jpg
    impala6.jpg
    48.8 KB · Views: 188
  • impala7.jpg
    impala7.jpg
    43.4 KB · Views: 186
  • impala4.jpg
    impala4.jpg
    70.8 KB · Views: 212
  • impala3.jpg
    impala3.jpg
    68.9 KB · Views: 250

quik9r

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 3
I am curious about the california built car, how late it was built, are those the original bumpers they are three piece?. Do you think the car was delivered in california or out of state when new . I would like to a see a picture of the frame at the back. This is purley out of interest on my part, great looking project.

Quik9r

62Impala

The 3 piece bumpers were for shipping purposes only.....my uncle has the original one piece bumpers. I'll attach a couple pictures of them as well as a picture of the back of the frame. According to the trim tag:

It was built the first week of December (12A)

The body was built at the Van Nuys, California plant.

It was assembled at the Los Angeles, CA plant.