1963 Wiring Suggestion Help Please

Phalen409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 6
I am replacing every bit of wiring in my frame off 63 Impala SS. Headlights to taillights and everything in between. Can any of you fine forum members suggest a company that can do it all and that might actually label where the hell it all goes. I am a complete novice at most of this especially the wiring. American Auto Wire furnished the wiring harness for the engine compartment for the blue can in my avatar, and that was somewhat easy for me. The under dash and back really could screw me up. Any suggestions?

As always, I really thank ya'll for the help.

Dennis

63 dream'n

Well Seasoned Member
Supporting Member 4
American Autowire has the entire 63 Impala wire kit #510063, it's $599.00.I have not used this kit but it looks to be user friendly.

blkblk63ss

Well Seasoned Member
Supporting Member 5
I replaced all of my wiring with exact duplicate of original, fuse panel and all. If you saved the old harness that also help's{ if you removed it }to tell where it went, and you can compare wire color just in case . I was thinking it would be a challenge ,but was very easy.A service manual will help also .I saved my old wiring and also the tab's that mount the wire's and connector's . After i had all new installed, then i did cut all of the connector plug's off my old harness ,as i did need a special pin to go into the outer firewall connector to connect hot wire for my Hei. It was a pain to get pin out of old connector ,but finally figured it out. All those old connector plug's i will never throw away. I'm thinking i got mine from eckler's or classic industries.They do make harness's with more fuse option's and new spade fuse 's , but i stayed with original .

Last edited:

Phalen409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 6