235 to 348 Swap

58 Guy

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 1
Hi Guys, I'm new to this so be gentle
I'm swaping a 235 6 Cyl out of my 58 Chevy belair Stock
and putting in a mildly pepy 348.
Does anyone have any tips on mods I should make like a Posi rear end or suspension Beefups
Thanks 58 Guy

bjburnout

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 4
6 to 348

Hey 58 Guy
I completed a similar swap on my 61 last year........:rolleyes:
Lotsa small changes to be made like the frame motor mounts were different....:doh
The 6 weighs more than the 348 so I did not change out the front springs, car sits nice in the front with a little less weight......:cool:
I also went from a PG to a T10 so had to make other changes as well......check out
the wiring harness too, on the 61 it was different for the 348.

The change over was worth the effort......it became a new car.........:D

:cheers
bj

jim_ss409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 5
A posi unit would be a nice way to go, but I just thought I'd let you know that the stock open rearends were all pretty much the same, except for different gear ratios. So the rearend and driveshaft in you 6cyl. car would be just as strong as one from a 348. If you're running an automatic it should hold up just fine.

bjburnout

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 4
Just like Jim said the stock rear end will handle most street performance
we throw at these cars........;)
I did not do anything to the rearend yet.......just wanted to get the car out and running...........:D
As for chat rooms, I'm not much for them either.......just prefer to use the message board.........always great advise on this one........:clap

bj

58 Guy

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 1