4 speed Column Help

CASHguzzler409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 6
A friend has just finished restoring his 63 Impala, and is having trouble tearing up the
grease fitting boot and shoes on his upper shaft. His shaft measures 21" 1/4 from the
steering box to the special "C" clip that goes around the rubber boot. He thinks that the shaft is off by about 1/2", making something move and bust up the inner metal seal around
the 2 shoes. He's measured mine and its 21 1/4", I have had the same problem but it
was fixed with buying a new rubber boot with better inner metal seal's. He has rebuilt
4 -62 and 63 columns so he does know something about them.

Im not a mechanic, so my descriptions are not the best, but he is really at the point
of not knowing what to do? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Cash.

CASHguzzler409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 6
Still having same problem with upper grease boot and shoes pulling out of the metal container, especially when at a complete stop, and trying to turn the steering wheel hard to back into, or turn hard into a drive way. The steering shaft has been lengthened from standard length of 18-1/2 or so, to a +7/8 inches to make the steering rod long enough to put the nut on the steering wheel. But... it still isn't long enough, by about a 1/2", as when you try pulling up the shaft and tightening down the nut, it pulls the shoes out of the coupling, ruining the rubber & metal collar. Any ideas ?.... Can't figure out why the steering shafts need to be longgated to make it work?.... Really starting to piss Barry off... Any ideas...? sure would
be nice? thanks CASH.

blkblk63ss

Well Seasoned Member
Supporting Member 5