'58 - 348 Tri Power

'37-4D

Well Known Member
Hi,
I am a newbie here on the forum.
I recently purchased an early '58 348 passenger motor which needs some rebuilding.
I am hoping to get some answers here on the forum.
I would like to go tri power direction and would be content with 300-350 hp.
I was told the heads had been reworked and are good.
I'll kick start by asking these questions:
-With an 811 block which work with 791 heads can I use new Edelbrock aluminum heads?
-Can I drill cooling wholes and use later heads?
-If the Edelbrock aluminum heads work, will these work with the tri intake manifold?
-Are there different types of tri power intakes?
-Since I have small ports, what are my options?

Basically what would be the most economical way to attain my tri power set up goal?

Thanks in advance guys.

Last edited:

Jim Sullivan

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 10
I'm not sure if the Edelbrock heads will work on your block, but the tri power intake will not fit the Edelbrock heads as they are large ports and the tri power is small port. Others here will know if the heads will work with your block.

oldskydog

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 10
811 block does not have the cooling passages so it can't just be drilled. Any later heads would have to have the cooling holes plugged to use on that block.

Don Jacks

Well Seasoned Member
Supporting Member 3
You wouldn't want the Eddie,or any other large port head on this engine anyway. Since you are only looking for about 1 horse per inch,use a forged 10-5-1 piston, a cam from Show Cars[pn 0949 or 0950 will fill the bill here].To keep the cost down,use an Edelbrock single 4 bbl intake,a 625 Street Demon carb,and either 2 1/2 outlet manifolds,small tube[1 3/4 tube] tri-y headers even better.What's the engine going in?

'37-4D

Well Known Member
UPDATE: Just found out that my block is 872 with the cooling wholes.
But the casting codes section say they will not work with the 791 heads!!! which I have!!!!