Cam install/roller tip rockers

Carmine

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 10
Thanks again guys. Those present springs with that cam, has taken me to 5000 rpm's several times without issue. I think I'm going to roll the dice on this one and leave those springs as they are. If they are the same spring used with both cams, then maybe I can get lucky. I really know little to nothing about cam/spring specs., closer to nothing actually, but the old cam had a gross lift of 507/507. The one I'm going to install has a gross lift of 468/489, maybe making the existing springs a little more compatible, Carmine.

Carmine

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 10
How would I check for coil bind?? I've never done that before. Maybe I could find something on YouTube. I did a little more research on the valve spring issue and came up with some stock valve spring specs. They threw a lot of numbers out, which truthfully, don't mean anything to me. But, one spec. did catch my attention. The author said that a stock spring can safely accommodate a .490 lift without binding. The cam that I'm installing has a .489 lift. The old one had a .507. So, if I assume (bad word I know) that I have stock springs, I'm still under the threshold of acceptance. I still feel and want to believe that the seats were cut and a more compatible spring was used. So, I'm staying on course. No spring change.

As a side note, went on YouTube last night looking around and came across a video showing how to remove a valve spring with the head still on the engine. Have to tell you, that was neat as hell. Never saw that done before. Didn't appear to be difficult at all. I'm sure many here have already done it. He had a little spring compressor which almost looked like it was homemade. What a blessing that has to be. When I think of changing valve springs, I think of head removal. Yuck. No more. I'm sure this method has been around for a while. Guess I'm just a late bloomer, Carmine.

La Hot Rods