Chrysler V8 Air Raid Siren

Greg Reimer

Well Known Member
In 1980 through 1986, I worked as a Power Equipment Mechanic for the Los Angeles County Mechanical Department main shop. We had an Off-Highway Equipment Repair section, and out back on a skid was an air raid siren like that. It had an iron Chrysler Hemi in it, either a 331 or a 354. They had Chrysler Fire Power embossed valve covers, and once a month, they were started up and tested county wide on the last Friday of the month at 10:00AM for about five minutes. They rotated a full 360 degrees on their base, and they were quite loud. One was across the road on top of a hill over East Los Angeles. They discontinued the test about 30 years ago, preferring more modern civil defense technology and they were decommissioned. Wonder what happened to all those iron Hemis?

Greg Reimer

Well Known Member
After my six years with the County, I went to LA City Department of General Services and worked at the Central Shop in downtown LA next to Union Station for the next 30 years. We maintained the City Hall fleet, which included City Council member's assigned vehicles, the Mayor's Office, and the related vehicles. One of the cars we worked on was a 1952 Chrysler Imperial Phaeton parade car. Three of those were built, three still exist. City of New York has theirs, the Peterson Museum has theirs, and LA still has theirs. They had the two barrel Hemi, but early in their lifetimes, these cars were called back by Chrysler and were updated, both externally and internally. One of the mods was a 4 barrel intake with a Carter WCFB carb. About 10 years ago, it seemed like a replacement WCFB was unobtainable, so we put an Edelbrock AFB replacement carb on it and then updated a few things. You can see those cars on Google, look up 1952 Chrysler Imperial parade cars for the whole story. They were one massively heavy car!

Greg Reimer

Well Known Member