Cylinder Head flow number?

Donovan

Hi all I am a newbie here so please be easy on me. Does anyone have flow number on the low performace cylinder heads? If not what is the block angle and I try and build an adapter for my buddies flow bench. I am going to put together a stroked 348 for my dads Impala. Also is there any single plane manifold out there. Thanks for the help.

Phil Reed

Well Seasoned Member
Supporting Member 10
348 stroker

You can make a stroked 348 by using a 409 crank and 348 rods and 348 pistons....030" over should give you a 383. We built one for a customer about 12 years ago and it just flew!!! Bolts right in but you'll need a 409 oil pan to clear the counter-weights on the 409 crank.

Good luck.

Phil Reed

I have to ammend my earlier message!!! You use a 409 crank AND RODS with 348 pistons for the stroker 348. The 409 crank has a .250" longer stroker while the 348 rod is .125" longer so it all works out using the stock wrist pin placement in the 348 piston.

Just didn't want to get anyone in trouble!!

Phil

Fathead Racing

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 7
Flow

High performance 348 and low performance 409 heads use 2.06/1.72" valves and flow around 210 cfm. The smaller valve ,1.94/1.66" head would flow less than that and would not be useful for performance applications. The good news is that the low performance heads will accept the larger 2.06/1.72" Or 2.19/1.72" valves. With the 2.19 valve the low performance head would flow around 225 cfm. I have 2.06/1.72" valves in a set of low perfomance heads on my 409. Smaller valve heads are great for the street. :cheers

oldimpala

Well Known Member
Flow Bench Numbers

Donovan-

I've got flow bench numbers for unworked 333's, which will be similar, if not identical to your LP 348 heads. The only modifications were to the valves, 2.19's/1.72's were installed prior to the porting I had done on those heads. If you'd be interested, I can send the info to you.

E-Mail me:

andyb@adelphia.net