Embarrassed to ask...

mabeauchamp

Supporting Member 1
I'm a bit embarrassed to ask but thought I'd put the pride aside to smooth things out down the road. Keep in mind I'm a newbie and know nothing about timing. But am trying to learn.

Take a look at the attached pic. Engine at TDC. Is the distributor installed properly/close for initial start-up? I was under the impression that I should be pointing towards the number 1 cylinder. Just can't get it to line up that way.

Thanks for any advice and patience you can give. Mark

Attachments

• 100_0161.jpg
    100_0161.jpg
    81.3 KB · Views: 145

rwagon57

Supporting Member 1
Install your plug wires on the cap such that number one lines up with the rotor. You may want to reorient the distributor so the rotor is positioned to make routing the #1 plug wire convenient.

SS425HP

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 3
Timing

You are very close. #1 plug wire is actually pointed to #2 cylinder. Rotate the motor until it is on about 10 degrees BTDC. Make sure it's on the compression stroke. Put the cap on, turn on the ignition, and rotate the distributor until the timing light flashes. Back and forth until you feel pretty sure you are close to the 10 degrees BTDC. Leave the distributor a little loose, and fire it up. Have your timing light hooked up and check the timing right away. Don't let it idle any more than you have to, to start with. Make sure the vacuum line to the distributor is unhooked and plugged. Should start right up if fuel is in the carb. If not, prime it a little. New motor shouldn't idle for the first 20 minutes. Keep RPMs up after you get timing set.

Good Luck

Fred

Fathead Racing

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 7