Howdy from AZ

MChance

My name is Mich I reside in Casa Grande AZ. I have been into Impalas for about 30 years primarily 1962's. I have had factory Big Block 396 cars but wanting to start my journey in the 348-09 side.
I'm looking for a 348 right now to put in a 53 Studebaker Loewy Coupe...hoping for suggestions on what to look out for in my craigslist searches lol.
What is a good deal?
I hate to ask stupid questions..

MChance

I've seen motors $500-800 condition unknown.
Is there any 348 specific stuff to watch for? I know nothing about these engines. I am very versed in 396/402/427 BBC been into them and running them and building them for years. I'm not a newbie that's engine dumb.
Do they have certain prone problems, I know there's truck stuff. Just like I avoid chevy big block 366 427 tall deck stuff except the cranks are cross drilled nitride.
Are 348 truck blocks ok? with passenger heads etc.

Phil Reed

Well Seasoned Member
Supporting Member 10
Welcome. 348 truck blocks have 2 notches at the top of the cylinders which kills compression. Trucks are 7.5-1 compression.

MChance

Thank you for the welcomes! I'm happy to have found you guys!
Can you UP the compression easily? Im only looking for 350 HP.
My Studebaker weighs 2800 lbs from the factory it lost the 800 lb motor/trans. Lost its stock wheels, it's stock rearend. It now has fiberglass front.parts 15x5 and 15x8 orig Torque Thrusts , Dana.
I'd guess its about 1900+/- lbs currently.
I'm doing nostalgia cruiser. I wanted reliability, smoke tires, sounds good. choppy idle.
It would be easy and cheap with a SBC and I know how. I could easily do it with a 396, or 454 I already have and stuff in a camshaft. It's not what I'm after.
I'm dead set on being different with this build.

MRHP

Supporting Member 1
350 horse is pretty easy. Upping compression is no problem, lots of pistons available. You may want to add a 409 crank to a 348 block. It is a drop in and makes 380 inch. A no brainer in my opinion.