neat old photo

real61ss

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 8
I wanted to share this with anyone who might be interested......I was given this photo by a freind last week. His parents have passed away and he was going through some of their stuff, his dad was a race fan back in the day and had a bunch of old pictures. This one was taken at the NASCAR spring race at the old half mile dirt Fairgounds Raceway in Richmond, Va. now the site of RIR. The date was May 15th, 1966

Back then I worked as a crewman for Worth McMillion, an independant Pontiac racer. Worth had 2 cars and I got to drive some races in the second car, that's me driving the # 83 '65 Pontiac. The # 22 car is Smokey Yunick's '65 Impala with Curtis Turner driving. I think the photo was taken while the cars were lined up on pit road waiting to go out for the start of the race. It appears to have been taken from the radio announcers booth, you can see the mike in the lower part of the picture.

According to the NASCAR record books, David Pearson won the race, Richard Petty finished second, Turner was 23rd with a blown engine, I finished 12th.

Probably not too many people remember Smokey having an Impala other than the '63 that he ran at Daytona.

Attachments

• 745604-R1-39-39.jpg
    745604-R1-39-39.jpg
    63.6 KB · Views: 112

Tom Kochtanek

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 13
Great memories!

Tommy:

Now that's got to bring back some fond memories!

Sounds like you had a lot of fun back then. Hard to believe 43 years have slipped by :). What was the drive train in that '65 Poncho? And how did a two ton car handle in the dirt? That must have been something!

Look forward to getting together next weekend, should be another memorable time :).

Cheers!
TomK

real61ss

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 8
"What was the drive train in that '65 Poncho? And how did a two ton car handle in the dirt? That must have been something!"

Tom,