need help deciding

So I just purchased a 59 el camino. Orginaily a 283 Powerglide. I want to put a 409 with a Muncie four speed. the trouble I am finding is what 409 should I purchase. I have a nice sized budget but a rebuilt 409 is out of the question (not spending 16,000 on a engine). So I was wondering what engine should I go with. Do the truck 409's have more tourqe to help move that hudge car. Or would the car 409 400hp have enough tourqe to get it off the line. I'm new to the 409 and 348's so any information would be very helpful. Thanks.

models916

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 7
A hot rod 348 or any of the 409s will move that truck along. The truck 409 can be made to perform with a cam and piston change. Give us a shout when you are looking at something and we'll tell you what it needs to perform. There is only a couple of early 348 truck engines to stay away from.

SSpev

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 3
348 or 409 ..... truck or car will work if you build it to do the job. Budget... 348 with 409 crank, truck heads, proper pistons.

Don Jacks

Well Seasoned Member
Supporting Member 3
:welcomeWelcome to the site.If you don't mind my asking,what are your performance goals,and how much are you planning to spend on the engine? These engines,while unbeatable in the "cool" or "neat" factor,arent too cheap to buy and have properly built.As Tom said,a 348 with a 409 crank[380 cu.in. on a .030 overbore] can be built to perform really well.

:welcomeWelcome to the site.If you don't mind my asking,what are your performance goals,and how much are you planning to spend on the engine? These engines,while unbeatable in the "cool" or "neat" factor,arent too cheap to buy and have properly built.As Tom said,a 348 with a 409 crank[380 cu.in. on a .030 overbore] can be built to perform really well.