New here, Fast Fred's son

bigone721

I'm kinda new to all this even though I've been around 409's all my life. I know alot of you knew my dad Fast Fred which passed away from cancer in December. My brother, mother, and I are trying to finish his car in his memory. If you don't know he was building a original '61 SS409 car into a tube chassis drag car. The car is mostly done but requires finishing touches such as plumbing, electrical, and paint. I am almost done with the body so it can be painted by Jay at Speedway in Lake Havasu. Dad said he wanted it painted it red, oppsite of factory colors (main color red with white stripe). I am trying to get the engine put together (a mechanically injected 476 with BWR heads). Just need to get one of the heads ported and we can run it on the dyno. Desktop dyno says it suppose to make 1100HP but the real estimate is around 800Hp. I've found alot of useful infomation on here and hope to have the car done by November for the street drags that will be held in town. Need to woop up on all the wanna be race cars with a rear car and motor!

BSL409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 6
Welcome aboard,
Sounds like a great build hope to see you at Thompson some day

jim_ss409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 5
The car's looking great!:beer
It should be really nice when it's done.

By the way, you're right not to trust the Desktop Dyno numbers. Those programs seem to work very well for a typical street engine but I think they exaggerate the power for performance builds.
Even 800hp would be a real accomplishment.:clap I hope you get there, or somewhere close, but don't worry even 650 or 700hp would really move that car.:deal

I know a car like this doesn't get built overnight but please keep us updated on the progress.

Phil Reed

Well Seasoned Member
Supporting Member 10
Welcome!!!!
The car looks awesome!!! Looks like a lot of thought and engineering has gone into this build!!! Dad will be proud!!!!

k9hotrodder409