Opinions on 327 timing setup

Fuzz1957

Well Known Member
Would like opinions on timing for the 327 in my 57. Bought engine rebuilt with about 8-9k miles on it without intake, carb, distributor, and exhaust manifolds. Current Information: Block is 1963, bored .30 over, 3782461 double hump heads (1.94/1.50), Holley contender dual plane intake manifold (300-38 street dominator), Pertronix ignition, Edelbrock 1406 600 cfm carb, AC R45 plugs gapped @ .40 and 2.5” rams horn exhaust manifolds. Seller of motor can’t remember what cam it has - duh! Cam does have a pronounced lumpty lump. Can’t really get it to idle down lower than 900/1000 rpm without killing. Currently have timing set at 12* initial and 36* all in. Doesn’t get to 36* all in at 2500/3000 rpm like I want it to, but rather all in is 3500/4000 rpm and climbs up a little with higher rpms. I’m not a mechanic, but put most of this car together, and finding out I can do most things myself (I said most - not all). Had a mechanic set timing and carb a while back and it ran poorly - dieseling at shut down. Just redid everything myself yesterday with timing set as mentioned and it seems to idle/run better and doesn’t diesel anymore. Would like opinions and comments about setting up timing/carb from the very knowledgeable on this forum. Thanks in advance.

Fuzz

MAGA

Fuzz1957

Well Known Member
No, it’s a Pertronix that is built to look as the original GM small cap. Flamethrower II new in the box before being installed. Thanks again.

Fuzz

MAGA

Don Jacks

Well Seasoned Member
Supporting Member 3
Make sure that the Pertronix get full battery voltage[no resister].Then get a spring kit for that dist.and put lighter springs in there[I change one spring at a time] until you get the curve to come in to the rpm range that you want it to.The carb will likely be close jetting wise.Maybe a change in the power piston springs,depending on your engines vacuum.Do the dist. work first.Those older