Scorpion Rocket PSA

1964SuperStocker

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 3
Oh I’m sure there is. I don’t run a girdle or even guide plates. I just don’t see a big enough return on investment. I would think a shaft setup would be $1200 plus. Usually shaft rockers come in at 800 pounds of spring pressure or 8,000 rpm. I have neither.
I am no engine expert but I think the example of 800lbs of spring and 8000rpm is mostly correct. Keep in mind that when an engine (such as yours) spends most of its running time at a higher RPM then its not 800lbs or 8000rpm but it might as well be. My current set up in the wagon is a tame kitten that I could shovel gravel down the intake and shrug and say it still runs at its low rpm all day long. (probably not literally) Your fine tuned world class sprinter engine gets the snot beat out of it every time it fires up. Consistently running as hard as you do I'm surprised you aren't running a girdle or even guide plates. I would say in your case and maybe a couple others on here that run real hard, a shaft setup (no matter the price) is not just worth the investment but an insurance policy in it self. Keep us in the loop with this, very interesting facts. :good

Ishiftem

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 2