Shifting gears

Carmine

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 10
just a wee bit. Hi everyone. Presently snowing here. About 5" already, but it's early. Been thinking about this for a while and thought it might be a good time to post it. It's in re. to the stock market, which has had a tremendous run up as of late. Some say it reminds them of the '28-'29 market before the big crash. Oh boy. Just what I need to hear. I think this present bull market is the second longest in history. But, what goes up, has to come down. I've been dabbling in the stock market since 1986. I have a stock fund but also individual stocks which I prefer over the fund. They seem to do better. Overall, it's been very good to me. I've been in for the highs and lows. I don't panic sell and I stay diversified. I watch it daily; sometimes 2-3 times throughout the day I look at it. I've locked in some healthy profits and I'm not about to lose them. I'm ready to sell as soon as I think the market is getting shaky. I'm much older now and I don't have the time to take a hit and try to recover from it. I'm self taught for the most part. I use a discount broker when I do trades. Do my own research and very seldom listen to others because it seems I always lose. Admittedly, this market has me worried and I sometimes wonder if there is something clandestine driving it? I know they say the economy is very good and part of the reason for the uptick. It's definitely going to take a dip. I think a pretty good one at that. Certainly, no one knows when or how much. So, are any of my brethren involved in the stock market?? Are you watching it?? Any strategy if things start to go not so well?? I'm sometimes reminded of the old Wall Street adage: Bulls make money. Bears make money. Pigs get slaughtered. Thanks and watch your money closely, Carmine.

our1962

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 2