The worst oil filter EVER!

Junky

Well Known Member
I have a friend that worked for Fram when they were located in Rhode Island, and when they got bought out, and closed the R.I. manufacturing facility, that is when the quality went south instantly. Prior to the buy out, they were producing a quality product that was known around the world as being a top quality filter. This happens a lot in the last 40 years, good companies get sold to people that don't care about the quality of the products, and look at only finding ways to cheapen the product, while living on the good name of the company that took decades to establish.

62BillT

Well Known Member
I've been using Fram since 1968. I guess I'm one of the ones that stuck with them even when the quality dropped. I've been hearing that for years now, and never switched, but that video is pretty convincing. But.... I've also never had any engine problems when using them all through the years. I've had pretty good luck with all my engines, 250 and 292 Sixes, W's, Small Blocks and Big Blocks. One comical example was an old wore out '69 327 that came in my '66 C-10 years ago. The truck was too nice not to buy it, but I knew the engine was pretty rough. It sounded horrible and I soon after put a new Timing Chain and Gear in it. It sounded a little better, but still not too good, lol. I said "I'll run it as long as I can". Well I squeezed over 5 Years and 55,000 more Miles out of that engine. All while using Fram Filters.

But I've also been using Wix in my Farm Tractor when having trouble finding any filters for it and I believe I'll be switching everything else over to Wix too.

chuckl

Well Known Member