This Freaken Car!

jjzepplin

Well Known Member
So some of you might know this car from my other thread introduction. I thought I would start another one that has to do with the car itself and not me. I am an old school mechanic and a vast array of vehicles that need my attention. This one was a gift from my mother. 1958 4 door Bel Air in very nice condition but was not currently running. Long story short- Bad rusty gas tank replaced and several carb rebuilds has landed in several carbs meeting the trash. I did however find that the motor (348) could run nice occasionally. There is hope. I found the most recent Holley carb to run the best but was actually crumbly. Yes it has mega cracks and would run ok sometimes but small pieces would crumble off here and there. WTF? So trash! Going to buy a new Holley today but may try to run my truck carb first as it has been a real good carb and starts and run great every time. It is on a 406 small block though and I hate to take a good running motor apart. What to do? It will need a carb eventually anyway so run the truck carb first for a baseline and then run the new one that of course will need adjustments and blah blah to get it right? I have been struggling with this sucker for so long it has me frandustiggled! I want to drive this beast! I am about to spring for some fuel injection! I have seen what I believe to be a vacuum leak in all the carbs I have tried as the idle mixture needles only make it run ok when they are turned in all the way. This should kill the motor altogether but nope. Runs great that way. Futha what? Baffled! Intake leak?

Carmine

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 10
Wouldn't that 348 have come with a Rochester 4GC carb.?? If so, no interest in finding a good one from around that period and sending it out to be professionally rebuilt?? Just an idea, Carmine.

1964SuperStocker

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 3