Tunnel rams are fun..no really they are

Tic's60

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 3
So the sky clears for a few hours and off I go to test out my new toy..err toys. Let first bring everyone up to speed on some recent updates.
My former cam was a ISKY solid roller 640/640 312 duration 108 lobe center. Nasty muther. Well a roller lifters wheel went south and nocked it out on a lobe. So I decide since I am mostly street anyway with some track time I would go to an all hyd roller camshaft. Close to the specs above but a Comp Cam version. Special made Smith brothers pushrods, Harland Sharp rockers and girdle assembly.
The cam is pretty nasty sounding with a much faster ramp up then the ISKY, LUMP…LUMP vs LUMP..LUMP..LUMP if that makes any sense. Just listen to the video I posted.
The carbs I went with true blue 1966 AFB 625's completely redid by a guy in NM. Excellent work and a cool person to deal with. Now I am no Carter expert so with some fine tuning tips from you all and him they are humming excellent! And the 1465 needle and seats work very nice in the old AFB’s.
So now that everything is together and running good lets take it for a run! After a though warm up I took off for the country. The new cam is much louder than the old one was quickly noticed in some traffic as well as this giant shinny thing poking out. Was fun to watch people point at it and stare.
Anyway after a quick stop for gas out to the testing area. Long straight strip of road that is out of the way and hardly used. I can see all the way to the end and there’s no other feeds into it for traffic. Perfect!