Sway Bar Fit from 83 to 59

303Radar

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 2
Several years ago I had an 83 El Camino and I bought some aftermarket sway bars. The front is about 1.25 inch thick and the rear is 1 inch thick. Shortly after installing them, I realized the frame was sprung and on a salvage title. So I took the sway bars and other parts off and had the car hauled off for scrap.

Now that I'm working on the 59 El Camino, it looks like the sway bars might fit with minimal work. The rear looks like I might need a couple of shims inside the rear control arms. The front control arms look like I could drill a hole in each and use a shorter mount.

The questions are:
1 - Anyone done this before?
2 - Is it as easy as I think it is.

I'll get some pictures in a week or so.
Thanks!

rwagon57

Supporting Member 1
I'm probably the wrong guy to answer since I have no experience with the X-frame cars, but as hotrodders that is the kind of stuff we do. I am building a '55 Chevy PU with an aftermarket MII front suspension and the trailing arm coil over suspension from a mid-60s Chevy PU. I am using a 1-inch rear sway bar from an A-body (similar to your G-body '83) and am looking for the right front sway bar, which ultimately may be adapting an A-body front bar. With the tools most of us have (welder, drills, saws, torches, etc.) it can be made to work. The trick is taking the time to think it through and make sure it works as planned and intended.

Go for it:clap

Bam59

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 5
hi,,,i to have a 59 and put a 1 in dia. front bar on with stock power steering and it it very close to the box. i do not think a 1.250 will fit. the years are 58-64. the job was harder because i did it the driveway (not again). i do not think it would be a good idea to CUT or WELD on a sway bar. just my 2 cents.
mike

jwhotrod

Supporting Member 1
sway bar question