Welding panels?

Aqua 409

I have no experience with a wire feed welder, but am getting ready to weld on a 63 SS floor pan. I am wondering what wire most of you use and if anyone has experimented with different types of wire such as a stainless, as well as brands. My welder was supplied with a spool of .024 HB28 ER70S-6 wire.

gearhead409

Well Known Member
Aqua, i use Lincoln .025 Super Arc L-56. it complies with ER70S-6 but is for sheet metal only. it grinds well and is soft enough it can be hammered and dollied without cracking.

jester

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 5
You want to stay with the gas wire. the other stuff has to much spatter.
A word of advice, stitch it in,don't try to continuely weld the seam or joint. You need to keep the the heat to a minimum to avoid warpage.

Old School

Supporting Member 1
Aqua 409 said:
I have no experience with a wire feed welder, but am getting ready to weld on a 63 SS floor pan. I am wondering what wire most of you use and if anyone has experimented with different types of wire such as a stainless, as well as brands. My welder was supplied with a spool of .024 HB28 ER70S-6 wire.

Are you cutting a patch or putting in a complete panel section? I am very fussy and didn’t want one of those ugly patch jobs or even a detectable repair on my car. Yesterday, I put in a patch under the rear seat pan that had a 12" rust spot. Used .025 wire with shielding gas, Cut the rot out plus a few more inches. Spent a few hours cutting and grinding a section of a new panel so that it fit exactly in the hole for a butt weld. The trick is to get the patch to fit right. No overlapping or seams over 1/16th inch wide. I welded tiny tabs under to keep it in place and not dropping through while I tacked it in. Just go slow and tack and stitch. Don’t let it get hot. Grind down the weld and if it needs, use a little finish putty before painting. The underside is grinded and finished the same.