1962 posi rear end swap

rconnors

Hi.....I am not a mechanic but I will explain this to the best of my ability...have had a 62 impala for 24 years and have driven it 96000 miles. Last week my rear end let go an drove a hole the size of a dime thru the front end of the pumpkin and the car would not move..car has a open diff with a ratio of 3.36 I think. So.......here in Nova Scotia Canada I found a 63 impala with a posi rear end and took it out today....its a posi as it has the big P on the front drivers side....however Canadian models have numbers stamped on the front passenger side not letters like American cars. In the U.S. a 283 powerglide 2 barrel which is what this donar car is would have either a 3.08, 3.36 or a 3.55 posi.....this car has numbers stamped instead of letters. Anyhow we will figure out the ratio. In swapping out this rear end my question is....Should I install the whole posi unit pumpkin and axles in my car as I took them out of the donar car? Or can I unbolt the front center section cover and install that in my original open diff case and will it fit. To get the front cover off I need to heat and maybe drill out the bolts as they are rusted bad. I have talked to Aubrey at Bruneau Performance and have bearing caps and a control arm bracket ordered. My car is running a ZZ4 355 hp GM crate engine with a 350 turbo trans. Any advice would be appreciated.....all the best.

rconnors

As an add on the P case I pulled out is Probably from a Canadian car two sets of numbers next to the P....8788812 below that is KP882 anyone decode this? Maybe Nov built posi and Aug 62 build on cast housing? Thanks

bubbletop1961

Well Known Member