1963 409 QB

wallygator

Im new to this site and could use a little advice(opinions) on the value of a engine I have.
It is a 1963 409/425hp it is complete from air cleaner to pan-fan blade to bell housing.
I have had this engine for 15+years and am thinking of selling it and would like a honest opinion of its value. Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks,Wally

k9hotrodder409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 15
15 years ago I sold my '63 409/425hp QB engine for $5,000.00. This was a running motor with everything to rebuild it in N.O.S.gm wrappers.:deal

:crazy:cheers

409envy

Well Known Member
I would say if its numbers matching and in original condition then $9-15k easy.
I am not an expert but that is just what I have seen similar engines go for on ebay. Also what it is worth and what it will sell for are two completely different things. If you find the right buyer then you will probably get close to market value for it. Someone restoring a 63 numbers matching QB car would definitely pay.

GLWS

Tom Kochtanek

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 13
Some one restoring a 1963 Chevy would be most interested in paying the premium for this particular engine. One problem lies in describing condition. Any engine sitting around for a long period of time will likely need to be dismantled and inspected, and that takes time, talent and probably some new parts (bearings, rings, gaskets at a minimum). Not many will pay that premium for an engine of unknown status. Yes, the QB suffix code and all the correct parts (block, heads, intake, carbs, breather, etc.) will dictate value. I'd say more like $6K to $8K depending on what you know about the engine. More than that would require a freshly rebuilt engine with all the correct components. Just my opinion.

Good luck!
TomK

oldskydog

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 10