348 Maximum Bore Size

NAIRB

I have a crack free 348 that was standard bore, but it's terribly rusty. I will need to bore it quite a bit to clean it up. What is the normal, safe limit on a 348. While I am here, I would be interested in knowing if there is a plate available to bolt to the top of a 348 block to allow use of a portable type boring bar.

NAIRB...
EVERY 348 block ever cast will accept a .125" overbore. I personally think that's a big as you can go, but if I'm not mistaken, there is a fellow in group here that has been running one for a few years now that is STD 409 size ! ( .187" over ).

Bottom line.... don't give it a worry... Your block will be fine:cheers

NAIRB

I would be interested in knowing if there is a plate available to bolt to the top of a 348 block to allow use of a portable type boring bar.

NAIRB

Well, since I'm a seasoned machinist myself, and I am tooling up my own machine shop, I was just wondering how they bored them back in the old days before there were rottler type boring bars that set up off of the pan rail around. I'm sure a guy could make a plate, but I just wondered how it used to be done. I'd like to do it myself.

Fathead Racing

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 7
Bore

I would not bore over .060" without sonic testing. Core shift on some of these blocks will leave you with dangerously thin cylinder walls. In my case a .060" bore left me with # one cylinder at .113". For around 60.00 you could save yourself some grief . At .125 overbore this would have left me with a .080" cylinder wall. A little thin for high performance no?

Impalaguru

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 1
Big 348