A few questions

neilswheels

Well Known Member
Hi, I'm here on a bit of a fact finding mission. I've recently bought a 40 ford sedan, and I am in the process of deciding how to build it.
I like the idea of a 348 in it, but also want to use a manual gearbox, preferably a 5 speed. Is this possible, are ther any conversions?
Also, what sort of year engine should I be looking for, and what can I expect to pay for it? I'm hopeing to have something in the 300 -350hp range. Is this possible without throwing loads of money at it? I don't know what hp 348's are standard, hence the question.
I'f you've read my intro, you'll know I'm a beginner to this, so your patience with me will be appreciated. Thanks - Neil

models916

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 7
348 cost

I would think $500-$600 for a complete re-buildable engine. Good 3 angle valve job and modern cam with free flowing exhaust should see easy 300hp on pump gas. Available on E-bay every day. Good luck

neilswheels

Well Known Member
Thanks for the info, the Tremec info is great, but it looks like $3000 plus shipping, not in my budget I'm afraid. A great setup for serious racing, but I'm looking at building a street car that may see strip action once or twice a year. What are Doug Nash boxes like? I've read on here that they break, but what kinda horsepower causes that, and are they 'that' bad to shift?

Also, on the engine, should I be looking at any particular year? Are some 348's less desirable than others?

I really appreciate the input, thanks.

Tom Kochtanek

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 13
348 specs

Neils: