A/FX 62 Chevys

wally409

Well Known Member
Hey guys - I've been trying to search out information on the history of A/FX Chevys. I just finished reading about Dyno Don Nicholson and how he campaigned a 62 Biscayne to a couple of championships.
How different were the A/FX cars compared to the factory 409/409 cars that came out that year (Phil, Aubrey?) - and I'm not talking about those with any Z-11 components.
I'd appreciate your input on information about the differences - ie, suspension, brakes, frames, engine, tranny, shifters, rear ends etc and I'm sure it would be interesting reading for everyone.
And what kind of factory or dealer add-ons were available that year for drag racing?
I'm picking up a 62 Biscayne tudor this fall and this might be a great clone to build.
Thanks. wally

Wally, because the F/X and Z11 cars were purely an American phenomenon, 20 years before my time, I am by no means an expert...
However, if I'm not mistaken... What would be classed as a 62 F/X car.... meant EXACTLY that.... the Z11 style heads and aluminum body components. :dunno

ROYALOAK62

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 1
Didn't the NHRA make the A/FX class more of a marketing issue so they could drop the gasers cars and have the match racer cars on the racing card which were more exciting in the eyes of the masses. With the altered wheel base and fuel plus the looks of the Detroit iron it was the best of two worlds.

But 62 would be a little too early for that look IMO.

Dave

NASCAR FAN

Well Known Member
Wally:

All the articles and photos (there are many) show Don Nicholson's 1962 409 as a white Bel Air Sport Coupe--not a Biscayne. Don Nicholson ran the car in S/S with the original steel front clip and in B/FX with an aluminum front clip.