Art and Models

WarBeast17

As an artist I've always enjoyed doodling cars, so when i fell in love with the "W" cars they became a favorite for me to start doodling with. Recently though I bought an art print depicting the winternationals race in 1962 between Dave Strickler and Dyno Don. I figured since I build models I decided i'd try and replicate the shot depicted in the art, i've got Dave's car done for the most part, Don's is starting to come together. I'd be happy to post some pictures soon, but I thought you guys might be interested.

-Travis

WarBeast17

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
This is the 409 for Don's car, the one for Dave's is already installed since the car is mostly complete, there are shots of it below. It's got the Z-11 style cowl induction and the two piece high rise aluminum intake the Z-11's used as well.

Dave's 62, mostly complete.

Once both cars are done i'll be sure to post more shots up, but for the meantime its back to painting. For anyone whos curious about the art print that inspired me you can find it on dragracingart.com. The artists name is James Ibusuki, and it's found under the main gallery.

WarBeast17

You know funny you mention that, I noticed that the same company that made these kits also makes the the Hayden Proffitt '62 bel-air. #612 I believe it was. I have some resource photos sitting around so I'm sure that can be arranged. I do have a '63 impala kit lying around so I might try and replicate Mr. 409's '63.

Dick MacKenzie

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 9