Montana "I Spy"

chevymusclecars

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 5
Some Corvette experts claim the first cars released had the 450 rating some experts claim they didn't. Since I'm not an expert I take the consevative view. I know the 450 air cleaner sticker was available at the parts counter and some Corvette owners changed it.

Moe

The 450 HP rating was used through serial number 2881 manufactured Oct 12th.

Bill

NASCAR FAN

Well Known Member
Had a friend that bought one brand new, came with the 450 decal.

58 delivery:

Corvette Black Book says: "...was initally listed and labeled at 450hp but, for uncertain reasons, the rating was reduced to 425hp shortly after introduction.

This statement would indicate you are correct.

Clarabelle

Tom Kochtanek

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 13
Quip from magazine

I alwys read that the L-88 engine was made available as a component in the L-88package, but I'm sure guys got 'em OTC as well. Here's an excerpt from a typical magazine source describing early L-88 racing ventures:

"Even before they could see its distinctive quad headlamps piercing the darkness, the Sunray DX Motorsports team knew when their Corvette was exiting the final ninety-degree turn at the end of Sebring’s long back straight. Six hundred horsepower worth of big block Chevrolet generated a thunderous roar unlike anything else on the track.

This 16th annual running of the famed 12 Hours of Sebring, held April 1, 1967, marked the debut of Corvette’s L88 option package. The aluminum headed 427, in concert with an M22 “Rock Crusher” transmission, heavy duty brakes and suspension, and a host of other competition inspired hardware, turned the Corvette into the purest race car to ever roll off a Detroit assembly line.