Polarizing My Generator

cccchevy

Finally got my 60 Elco back from paint and have been putting it back together the last couple weeks. Started it and moved on its own power yesterday! My question is, how do I polarize the generator. I have rebuilt it, now the GEN light it staying on. I feel embarrassed asking this question, I've been an ASE certified technician now for 14 years, but when it comes to generators, points, and some carb stuff, I'm clueless! I love the old school, but know the new school!
Thanks for any help!

rstreet

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 17
To polarize a generator touch quickly a jumper from the BAT to the GEN terminals of the regulator. I hope this helps. If it doesn't work motor the generator to check everything else

Ronnie Russell

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 2
cccc,,,,,,,,, If polarizing does not help,,,, a bad ground at the gen. light in the dash will keep the bulb on, even if the generator is functioning.

58impala

Well Known Member
If I remember correctly, polarizing a generator by "Flashing" the bat to gen terminal should be done with the engine Not Running. Not always required after rebuilding the unit, depends on what parts are replaced, but sometimes necessary for the gen to function correctly.

cccchevy

Thanks for all your help guys! It was an installer error(ME!). Had wires on gen swapped! Works great now!

rstreet

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 17
Thanks for all your help guys! It was an installer error(ME!). Had wires on gen swapped! Works great now!

good thing that wire "modification" wasn't on a new car or the results could have been very expensive as you know by being a current ASE tech. glad you're back on the road
Robert

blumun53

Well Known Member