SBC Chev Alum Heads

rstreet

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 17
I realize there are alot of choices out there and this question should be on another webb site but I sort of trust you guys opinion:hug
In building a 383 SBC that will be used in a Camaro 4sp, 3:7 rear for a cruiser/Sunday driver and not being raced what would be your choice of Aluminum head and would you get it "assembled" or use someone else's valves/springs. Remember not actively raced!!(too old for that stuff)
robert

skipxt4

Well Seasoned Member
Supporting Member 18
Head Games

Robert: This is my opinion. I'm not an expert. If money was no object, I would buy Brodix. They have been making aluminun heads a long time. For a street driven car, like you mentioned, I think Trick Flow would work well. :clap Yes, I would buy them assembled, with cam and valve lift in mind. Skip:clap

jarretts409

heads

robert
my dad has built a lot of engines .hes got a 1100 hp 540 blown with electrontic fuel injection in a 55 chevy that runs low 8s street car so he knows what he is doing . just last summer he built a couple sbc street motors for a couple guys and he has used edelbrock performer rpm heads . 1 motor was a 355 cid with
10.1 compression and edelbrock rpm package(cam intake heads) and it dynoed at 444 hp and 422 ft lbs torque on pump gas . good bang for the buck
just my input hope it helps
jarrett

1958 delivery

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 2
As a driver, I would buy the Eddy Performer RPM. package But for sure at least the heads and intake.

boxerdog

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 5
I've had 4 sets of street aluminum heads:

Older AFR
Trick Flow 23*
Holley 20* (made by Brodix)
Edelbrock Perf RPM

I think the Edelbrock heads were the best head for the $, if I was going to spend a little more I'd get the new-style Eliminator AFR heads. Just my .02.

dc

Brian Thompson

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 2
Robert-