supercharged 409

charlie rogers

Well Known Member
will be starting a build on a supercharged 409 in about a month. want to contact lamar waldon or/and bob walla, anybody have there contact info? btw this will be a street motor. anybody else you guys rec getting into contact with?
Charlie,,,,

charlie rogers

Well Known Member
never built a w motor before so I am just getting started with my research on the shortblock/rotating specs. I am a big fan of long rod motors from a mechanical point of view. looking to get a rod ratio of 1.7 or higher/better for my build. so I wont be going with a 4 inch stroke. I see bob walla's shop is not to far from me {about 2 hours} that could could be handy. willys all steel, need to turn it into correct era gasser2015-9-3.2.JPG

jim_ss409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 5
All steel... Nice. :beer

I wonder just what rod ratio you could get with custom pistons on a 4" stroke. :scratch
I know 6.385 rods will work with a 4.25 stroke, so with that same piston, you could fit a 6.51 rod.
6.535 is an available size that could almost certainly work but that would only give you a ratio of 1.634 with a 4" stroke. :rub

To get to 1.7 you'd need a 6.80 rod. I kinda doubt that would fit, so you're probably right about not being able to go with a 4" stroke.

I know there's some advantages to a long rod setup but it's not like 1.634 is a bad ratio. It sure would be nice to take advantage of the 4" aftermarket cranks out there rather than having to modify an old 396/427 crank.

Either way, it should be a great engine with a blower on it.

nomad59NZ

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 2