Traction Masters

4onthefloor

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 1
Any of you fella ever run Traction Masters on your cars ? I have an NOS set that I am going to weld on in lieu of the 2nd upper control arm and just wondering if they help with traction and rear end stabilization.

4onthefloor

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 1
Hows this ?

xtree013.jpg

xtree014.jpg

xtree015.jpg

xtree020.jpg

xtree021.jpg

Fathead Racing

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 7
I’m no engineer, but I would say that they could help stop axle windup and maybe eliminate wheel hop. If I were to design such a setup I think I would make the axle brackets extend below the axle farther. I have been looking for ideas to add to my 60 Impalas rear axle because I have wheel hop in spite of air bags and an added upper link. Upper and lower arms have been boxed and poly bushings have been added. I have no wheel hop when I run slicks but when I run street tires I have to back out of it because of violent hop.

Tic's60

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 3
I hear ya Fatride! My 60 did the same. Could you possibly give us some measurments off these? Please. I have a set of ladder bars I am putting under mine but these have me going hmmmm.

thanks

Mike

4onthefloor

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 1
These were pretty popular back then...I'm sure they work...at least I hope so. I will try and get ,easurements in the next week or so. I wonder why the old racers used the L-O-N-G ladder bar back then though...connecting the front of the bar way up near the front footwells. Apparently this was due to a calculation to find the "instant center" of the car out of the hole. I'm not an engineer either so :dunno

4onthefloor

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 1
So does anyone know the benefits of the long arm vs short arm ? DQ do you know the correct way to measure for instant center ?

chevymusclecars

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 5
Fatride