Where to start body rebuild

58 Guy

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 1
I'm just getting started redoing my 58 Belair and have to redo the floors and braces from the trunk to the front some of it isn't totally shot but I may as well do it all at one time, then I know it's all been done clean. Also got to do lower quarters and a crease that some dork did to me in a parking lot on the rear quarter.Fenders need work too.
Any suggestions on where to start , like for instance start with the trunk floor and move forward or vise versa.
One other question how do you guys feel about trim, I mean I'm toying with the idea of leaving off the trim cause these fifties and sixties chevys have such nice clean body lines sometimes the trim covers up a sweet looking shape. :bow
Anybody want to put in there two cents?
Thanks John

oldskydog

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 10
As for the trim, don't leave it off. Just my opinion but I have seen 58s with the trim removed and they look like &^*(. They look slab sided and the lines don't stand out as well as with the trim. Also you will limit the marketablility of the car. As with any custom, It may please you but it may not appeal to potential buyers who appreciate the original look. I have several 58s and love the look. I got my first, a Delray 2 dr sedan, in 61. The BelAir has the best trim accents of all the models, I think. When I repainted my DelRay I removed the Chevy emblems on the hood and trunk but left the V. I also removed the DelRay script from the side but thats as far as I went. It looked good and that is about as far as I would go in removing any trim.JMHO

jim_ss409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 5