Which frames will interchange?...

348tgh

I'm in the middle of restoring my 59 2dr hdtp and it appears the frame (mostly behind the axle) is rotted a lot worse than I first thought. I realize that this would be the best time to do something about it, seeing as the driveline is out of the car and the body is completely gutted and the front clip is off, etc. It's just something I wasn't expecting. Anyway, I guess I have a couple of options - cut up the old frame and box in new pieces here and there until it's solid enough to use and look presentable (The car is not going to be a points winner, just a nice restoration/driver, keeping it as close to original as possible).
Second option - find a decent frame/chassis from another car that I can set this body on and continue with the restoration.

Since I'm kinda new to these old Chevies, this raises a few questions for me. What years/bodystyles frames will interchange? How much should I expect to pay for a bare X-frame in good-enough-to-use shape? If other years are different (63, 64?), how different are they? If they're not an exact swap, how much work is it to make them work?

Thanks for any info anyone can pass my way.

I've chimed in a couple of times before, but not since the new site was developed. Lot's of great information here!

Thanks!

Toby (2-tone 2drhdtp '59 348PG)

bobs409

Administrator
Toby,

According to the part numbers, 1959 and 1960 Chevys use the same frame. Convertibles have a different frame from the others so avoid those. (they have a boxed frame and I believe 2 extra body mounting points)

I can't say on other GM products of those years like Olds, Pontiac's etc but perhaps there's an interchange manual somewhere that might have that info. Maybe someone here???