1961 409 value

fine09

GDay,im new to this so bare with me,i recently was lucky enough to purchase a 1961 409 and was wondering if anyone could give me a rough idea of its value.I am a 409 fan,and do own some,but im in Australia and never thought i would see a 61 409 nevermind own one.I have been approached to see if i would sell it but am a bit reluctant too.The engine is a short engine(heads long gone) but is standard bore, cast number 3795623,no 'x' on front of block.The engine has been in a boat so there is corrosion in water jackets but its not to far gone.I have never seen or heard of one for sale for a guide so help would be appreciated.

rstreet

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 17
Tommy
Are you on your way to Australia. I want to see film of you carrying that 1961 block through airport security. I also want to hear what you tell customs what it's worth for taxes.:roll :roll :roll

real61ss

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 8
Rstreet,
Naw, I remember what the shipping and insurance was on the one that I have, I can't imagine what it would cost to ship one from down under.:rolleyes:

rstreet

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 17
I couldn't imagine what it would cost to get a block from Australia. I remember several years ago the costs and issues to get sludge belt press parts from Sweden (I think it was)
My 61 was built too late to have had a 409 also it was built in St. Louis so I won't be on the plane tomorrow to go get it. :brow

rstreet

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 17
Tommy:
There was a 61 s/s 409 car around this area(Southern Delaware) but it supposedly left with the owner when he went into the Navy. I am thinking it may have landed near you in the Norfolk/Hampden Roads area. That one might be cheaper to get....Heck I forgot you probably already have the car now!!!!!!

real61ss

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 8
Rstreet,