1962 hood hinge

32jeff62

are their any numbers or markings on origonal 62 hood hinges. or how can i tell the difference betwoon orig and repo??
thanks
jeff

bobs409

Administrator
If it works good, it's an original. If not, it's a repro. :D

Actually, I have no experience with repro hinges but have never heard anyone say they were good. Lots of complaints on those...

pvs409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 11
62 hinges are also junk. A local friend just got a pair and his hood does not fit right and they do not stay up.
I have seen others comments from the past on repro 62 hinges that are junk. Use originals and if the rivits are bad, have them replaced. I have been collecting good 62 hinges for use and if someone needs some and have a good recommended source for replacement of the rorginal style rivits if necessary .

Another friend had me plate his 62 hinges (without checking the rivits) and when the body shop installed them on his 62 Belair 2 door, the hood would not shut down all the way in the back. I had to sell him another plated set with tight original rivits. Lesson learned on checking originals for wear on the rivits.
Paul

32jeff62

62 hinges are also junk. A local friend just got a pair and his hood does not fit right and they do not stay up.
I have seen others comments from the past on repro 62 hinges that are junk. Use originals and if the rivits are bad, have them replaced. I have been collecting good 62 hinges for use and if someone needs some and have a good recommended source for replacement of the rorginal style rivits if necessary .

Another friend had me plate his 62 hinges (without checking the rivits) and when the body shop installed them on his 62 Belair 2 door, the hood would not shut down all the way in the back. I had to sell him another plated set with tight original rivits. Lesson learned on checking originals for wear on the rivits.
Paul

thanks guys. paul do you have a pair of orig ones that you would sell?
thanks
jeff

pvs409