4 speed Stuck in 1st What can I do?

rafs409

Well Known Member
Hey Guys,
Im new to my car and have never owned a 4 speed. The car has run fine with no problems. I left the car at my brothers house and just picked it up. When I was putting the car in the Garage it got stuck in 1st gear. It wont come out and go into any other gears. How can I fix this or get it un stuck. I remember my dads 57 getting stuck in gears and you would have to pop the clutch as it was running and that would pop it out or you would get out and under the hood and move the linkage manually and it would get it out.

How can I get my tranny out of 1st and what causes this and how can I stop it from happening again?

Thanks for your help I know you guys will have the answer!

Rafael

Fathead Racing

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 7
Stuck?

Get under the car and remove the shifter linkage. Place tranny in neutral. I'll take a guess here and say the shifter linkage needs to be adjusted.

rafs409

Well Known Member
thanks

Thanks fatride but now since Im a novice which one of the trannies linkage is for first gear. I think from seeing trannies on ebay there are two shifters comming from the tranny that the linkage connects to. Which one if for first and second and which ones are for 3rd and 4th.

thanks for your help
Rafael

SS425HP

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 3
tranny adjustment.