348er in Switzerland

Dä Huäbär

Well Known Member
the block is now at a engine workshop for drill and honing and other mechanical work .

WhatsApp Image 2021-02-04 at 13.06.55.jpeg

the old man has 45 years of experience in engine rebuild , but never see a W-Engine . the W is very rare her in Switzerland . all Swiss Chevy guys prefered the small block . since 30 years , we work together and he buildt many engines for me in this time .
i buyed the book " rebuild and modify Chevy 348/409 from John Carollo " before i buyed my Impala . i owned also the two HotRod magacines with the report over the W-engine from 348cid to 434cid . with this knowledge and the help of the knowledge of the members of this forum , i think , i bring my engine back to the road in much better shape and performance . oh yes, i'm a trained toolmaker by profession:wax

@ Fathead Racing / Ray : many thanks for your offer, that's very generous of you :appl

a few parts are now arrived at my workshop : a new waterpump , a new oilpump , many small engineparts and the 4" Scatkit :D :tongue2
the Edelbrock kit 2039 is orderet in August last year , but not arrived to this time . it should be delivered in mid-March

WhatsApp Image 2021-02-04 at 13.05.33.jpegWhatsApp Image 2021-02-04 at 13.06.12.jpegWhatsApp Image 2021-02-04 at 13.06.30.jpeg

Last edited:

Dä Huäbär

Well Known Member
i ask myself the same thing . but for the first street registration of the car in switzerland, it must be as original as possible . we have very strict laws for old cars in switzerland . when the powerglide disassembles , there is a th 350 or th 400 the next ( maybe an oder on , on automatics I have no idea :hide )

boxerdog

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 5
This should end well....plenty of good stuff there.

My only worry would be cam selection and the valve to block clearance on 348s, but just so you are aware in advance.