camshaft and intake recomendation for 348 stroker

looking for some recommendations on a hydraulic flat tappet grind camshaft and induction for the 380 W series stroker i am slowly building.... looking to make 400 hp . engine so far is as follows .030 block, 10.5:1 ross pistons 6.135" h beam eagle bbc rods, 409 crankshaft. 817 heads with 2.06/1.72 valves.

jim_ss409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 5
I'm no expert but here's a couple of cams from Aubrey's site that might be good. My guess is the first one probably wouldn't quite get you to 400hp but I think the second one should.:dunno

Part # H-224557D
Advertised Duration 268/280
Duration @.050 224/230
Lift .557/.560

Part # H-230569D
Advertised Duration 274/286
Duration @.050 230/236
Lift .569/.574

Here's the link... http://www.bruneauperformance.ca/409chevyengineparts.html

I think the best intake would be the single quad, single plane one Aubrey's working on.
If you wanted to go with a dual quad, I think the Edelbrock might be a little better than the Offy for 400hp or less, but that's just a guess. I'm hoping others might also have an opinion.

Fathead Racing

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 7
All 348 Ws come with a notch in the cylinder wall that will lower the comp ratio unless the Ross pistons have this figured in. I'm guessing for a big horse 348 will need some big compression.

jim_ss409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 5
This 388ci stroked 348 made 355hp at the rear wheels... http://www.348-409.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9306 Using a really conservative 15 percent for driveline loss that works out to 417hp at the flywheel. My guess is this engine would likely pull 425hp or more on an engine dyno.:scratch
He used a solid flat tappet cam with 242-246 @.050 duration. When you allow for valve lash the duration would be comparable with a hydraulic cam with about 234-238 @.050 so it's not too far off the second cam I mentioned earlier.

pistons