Color sanding & buffing black paint

bobs409

Administrator
Is there anything special to consider when sanding and buffing out dark colors? I'm going to be painting the '66 Impala black this summer so it's time to start doing some homework since I'm fairly new to the buffing process. :p

I know dark colors (especially black) will show swirls alot more than lighter ones so first, I am planning on using fresh buffing wools and pads but are there any special compounds that work best for black or should it be treated the same as any other color?

Would appreciate any advice or tips...

Thanks. :)

Bob

JimKwiatkowski

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 5
Bob,do the same process you did on your truck.Use Meguiar's Mirror Glaze #7 works best on dark colors.

real61ss

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 8
Bob,
One of my 61's is black, I didn't do anything different from the white car. I'm not a painter but I paint my own cars in my garage. I do have a HVLP gun to cut down on the fog in the shop. I always figured that if I put enough paint on the car and my sand paper and elbow don't give out, I can make it look like I want it to look!!! I never use clear coat unless it's a metalic color, you've about got to use it then. I for sure would not use clear on black because I think it puts a haze on the black causing a milky appearence instead of the gleaming black finish that you want. I use PPG Deltron or Concept, I don't know if they make Deltron anymore. This brings up another problem for the backyard guy, I only paint a car about every 3 or 4 years, with all the changes going on in the paint industry, it's about impossible to keep up with what works best. My best friend owns a parts store and is a dealer for PPG paints, my son-in-law in a paint rep for Martin-Senior so they help by keeping me up to date on the changes. But here's what I do, first, make sure that the thing is ready to paint, then put about 5 wet coats on, let it set for a week or so and then start sanding.