driveshaft and rear pinion angle

Toms63SSQB

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 8
Has anybody that has installed a Ford rear end on their X frame know what the drive shaft angle is from the carrier bearing to the rear end U joint? I have a 3 inch IEDS and the angle on the ds is 8.4 degees down and the rear end yoke is 1.0 degree up. These numbers were obtained with all 4 wheels on the concrete floor in my barn. I have UMI adjustable upper control arms so an adjustment won't be too difficult. These numbers added together give me a total of 7.4 degrees. I noticed from an earlier post that Steve from "Wully Bully" adds the two together and calls it the total angle. I believe he said he running 7 degrees. so I'm thinking what's good for steve is good for Tom.

DaveFoster

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 4
I'm not an expert, but I do know that more down angle gives added forward bite, but at a coast of wheel hop on deceleration, oval track pavement cars run 6 or 7 degrees down, dirt guys run more, sometimes as much as 15 depending on their driving style. I would listen to the experts if they will share.

Kdurgin

Well Known Member
I'm not an expert, but I do know that more down angle gives added forward bite, but at a coast of wheel hop on deceleration, oval track pavement cars run 6 or 7 degrees down, dirt guys run more, sometimes as much as 15 depending on their driving style. I would listen to the experts if they will share.

What about the excessive angle through the joint itself?

DaveFoster

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 4