Hello from another W motor newbie

WARPT

Well Known Member
I'm coming out of the closet.... oh wait a sec! :facepalm
I mean I have been lurking on this site for a little while... decided to say hello.
One of my projects is a 1959 el Camino, small block fact. 3 on the tree.
This one needs a 348!
I have found a rebuilt 348 short block .060 over, a rebuilt set of heads, and I have located a tri-power set up.

Attachments

• 20170825_193934.jpg
    20170825_193934.jpg
    57.4 KB · Views: 21
  • 20170825_193810.jpg
    20170825_193810.jpg
    61.7 KB · Views: 23
  • 20170825_194151.jpg
    20170825_194151.jpg
    56.6 KB · Views: 28
  • 20180228_211706.jpg
    20180228_211706.jpg
    76.6 KB · Views: 29

IMBVSUR?

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 2
Nice El Camino, welcome. I am no expert with 348/409's so it will be interesting to me what others think about starting with a .060 over block.

pvs409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 11
Welcome to the forum..........

You have to sonic check the block to see if it has enough thicknesses in the cylinders to bore it more than 0.60 assuming it has too much taper at 0.60 to be rebuilt.
I just went 0.80 over on my 57 Chevy 283/270 HP solid lifter motor. Also my friends 62 SS 409 convertible is 0.70 over.
Both blocks were sonic checked by our machine shop who did all machine work on the engines.
Paul

WARPT

Well Known Member
Thanks for the greetings everyone!
I'm sure I will have a couple bazillion questions about these unique engines.
Thanks in advance for the offerings of information, advice, compliments and a little B.S.!

I found this thread about over-bore size of the 348:
http://www.348-409.com/forum/threads/348-maximum-bore-size.599/